Important 2018 Election Dates

March 6, 2018 – Primary Election
First day to file for a place on the Primary ballot for precinct chair candidates. Tuesday, September 12, 2017
First day to file for all other candidates for offices that are regularly scheduled to be on the Primary ballot. Saturday, November 11, 2017
Filing deadline for candidates; filing deadline for independent candidates to file declaration of intent. Monday, December 11, 2017 at 6:00 PM
First day to apply for a ballot by mail using Application for a Ballot by Mail (ABBM) or Federal Postcard Application (FPCA). Monday, January 1, 2018*

*First day to file does not move because of New Year’s Day holiday. An “Annual ABBM” or FPCA for a January or February 2018 election may be filed earlier, but not earlier than the 60th day before the date of the January or February election.

Last Day to Register to Vote Monday, February 5, 2018*

*Actual deadline falls on Sunday but moves to the next business day.

First Day of Early Voting Tuesday, February 20, 2018*

*First business day after Presidents’ Day

Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail
(Received, not Postmarked)
Friday, February 23, 2018
Last Day of Early Voting Friday, March 2, 2018
Last day to Receive Ballot by Mail Tuesday, March 6, 2018 (Election Day) at 7:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR Wednesday, March 7, 2018 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)⁴

 

May 22, 2018 – Primary Runoff Election
First day to apply for a ballot by mail using Application for a Ballot by Mail (ABBM) or Federal Postcard Application (FPCA) Monday, January 1, 2018*

*First day to file does not move because of New Year’s Day holiday. An “Annual ABBM” or FPCA for a January or February 2018 election may be filed earlier, but not earlier than the 60th day before the date of the January or February election.

Last Day to Register to Vote Monday, April 23, 2018
First Day of Early Voting Monday, May 14, 2018
Last Day to Apply by Mail (Received, not Postmarked) Friday, May 11, 2018
Last Day of Early Voting Friday, May 18, 2018
Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail Tuesday, May 22, 2018 (Election Day) at 7:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR Wednesday, May 23, 2018 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)⁴